Gearrliosta Ghradam Sheosaimh Uí Ógartaigh 2019 ainmnithe

Share this page |FacebookTwitter

Gearrliosta Ghradam Sheosaimh Uí Ógartaigh was officially announced by the Mayor of the City of Galway, Cllr. Níall McNelis at a press event which took place in the Galway Chamber recently. Thirteen Galway city based businesses and organisations, representing a wide range of sectors from across the city are through to the next round of the Gradam and all are in with a chance to be crowned the next new tribe of Galway. The Gradam is organised by Gaillimh le Gaeilge in association with the Galway Advertiser and TG4 and with support from the Galway Chamber.

The following businesses and organisations were selected for the Gradam Gearrliosta 2019:

In the Retail category, sponsored by Galway Bay FM the finalists are:

Corrib Shopping Centre, KD Autoparts, Mary’s Fish

In the Tourism & Hospitality category, sponsored by Fáilte Ireland, the finalists are:

Clayton Hotel Galway, The Galmont Hotel & Spa, The Kings Head, The Skeff Late Night Bar & Kitchen

In the Services category, sponsored by Snap Galway, the finalists are:

Magnet Networks, Ó Tuairisg Associates Ltd., Sweeney Oil

In the Other Companies category, sponsored by Acadamh na hOllscolaíochta Gaeilge, the finalists are:

Big O Taxis, Galway Volunteer Centre, Westside Community Organic Gardens


Speaking about this year’s Gradam nominees, the Mayor of the City of Galway, Cllr. Níall McNelis congratulated their bilingual efforts and achievements and said:

“The high standard and quality across all of the Gradam categories is an endorsement of the commitment and passion that exists for the Irish language in our city”.

He went on to extend his congratulations to the Gearrliosta and presented each finalist with a Gradam Teastas and went on to say:

“Gradam Sheosaimh Uí Ógartaigh is a great platform for any business or organisation to highlight their bilingual achievements as well as receiving due recognition for their work. It also encourages and drives you forward to improve your use of the Irish language.  It would be hard to imagine Galway City without the Gradam, we can all see the impact it has had on our city – long may we continue to promote and celebrate the use of the Irish language in Galway.”

Also speaking at the Gradam press event, Cathaoirleach Ghaillimh le Gaeilge, Bernadette Mullarkey congratulated all of the nominees and said:  “Míle buíochas do na heagraíochtaí agus do na gnólachtaí go léir a ghlac páirt sa Ghradam i mbliana. Tréaslaim libh as bhur gcuid oibre  agus as bhur ndíogras agus sibh a ullmhú do Ghradam Sheosaimh Uí Ógartaigh.”


Speaking on the adjudication panel, she went on to say:

“The Moltóirí selected the 13 businesses for the Gearrliosta because they displayed a clear understanding of the Gradam criteria and process, and placed ‘high value’ on the use of the Irish language within their businesses and organisations. They also gave practical demonstrations of how the Irish language works for them in a meaningful and sustainable way. It is also very good to see that the Irish language is part of their plans going forward.”

She also thanked all of the local and national sponsors of the Gradam: The Galway Advertiser, TG4, Fáilte Ireland, Galway Bay FM, Snap Galway, Acadamh na hOllscolaíochta Gaeilge, Ollscoil na hÉireann, Gaillimh, MOLSCÉAL, Údarás na Gaeltachta and the Galway Chamber for their support.  The total value of the sponsorship package for the Gradam is worth in excess of €23,000.

Moltóirí Ghradam Sheosaimh Uí Ógartaigh will visit the premises of all of the finalists in the coming weeks. On the panel this year is: Rónán Ó hÓgartaigh, son of the late Seosamh Ó hÓgartaigh, whom this award is named in honour of, Deirdre Ní Choistín, Léiritheoir/Eagarthóir MOLSCÉAL and Freda Nic Giolla Chatháin, Oifigeach Cumarsáide Gaeilge, Gaillimh 2020.

Government Chief Whip and Minster for the Irish Language, the Gaeltacht and the Islands Seán Kyne, TD will announce the category winners and the overall winner of Gradam Sheosaimh Uí Ógartaigh at a special awards ceremony in the Salthill Hotel on Monday the 20th of May.